fbpx Skip to content

Board of Directors

To ensure that the Athabasca Watershed Council is representative of voices from across the watershed, the Board of Directors is comprised of seats representing specific sector groups.

As outlined in the Board of Directors Terms of Reference, the Board of Directors has a maximum of 21 members (including the past Chairperson) representing seats for industry (5), non-governmental organizations (5), governments (5), Indigenous members (3) and Members-at-Large (2).

If you’re considering joining our Board of Directors, please take a moment and read through our INFORMATION FOR PROSPECTIVE BOARD MEMBERS. It provides details on time commitments, committees and performance expectations for AWC Directors.

2022-23 Board of Directors


Abdi Siad-Omar | Land and Environmental Planning, Northern Region (Alberta Environment and Parks) 

Vacant | (Provincial/Federal Government) 

Vacant |  (Municipal – Upper Basin)

Gary Cromwell | Athabasca County (Municipal – Middle Basin)

Lorin Tkachuk | Lac La Biche County (Municipal – Lower Basin) 



Dan Moore, President | Alberta Forest Products Association/Alberta Newsprint Company (Forestry)

Janice Linehan | Suncor Energy Inc. (Oil and Gas)

Vacant | (Small Agricultural Producer)

Kennedy Deregt-Taschuk| West Central Forage Association (Agriculture)

Vacant | (Mining/Utilities)


Cleo Reece | Individual 

Alyssa-Mae Laviolette | Individual

Vacant | (Indigenous) 


NGO’s, Stewardship, Academia

Julie Hink | Healthy Waters Lac La Biche (Health and Environment)

Brian Deheer | Healthy Waters Lac La Biche (Health and Environment)

Kendra Gilbert, Vice-President | Baptiste and Island Lakes Stewardship Society (Stewardship)

Paula Evans, Secretary-Treasurer | Crooked Creek Conservancy Society (Stewardship)

Scott Ketcheson | Athabasca River Basin Research Institute, Athabasca University (Research and Academia)



Vacant | Individual (Member-at-Large)

Laura Pekkola | Individual (Member-at-Large)

2022-23 Board of Directors – Alternates


Curtis Brock | Alberta Environment and Parks 

Robb Minns  | Athabasca County (Municipal – Middle Basin)





Chantel Quintel | Individual Member 


NGO’s, Stewardship, Academia

Alia Schamehorn | Crooked Creek Conservancy Society (Stewardship)



Paul Belanger | Individual (Member-at-Large)

Become a Member

Learn how you can become part of the Athabasca Watershed Council